Somen Mitra is confirmed dead at the age of 78.
Somen was best known as a Indian politician.
Somendra Nath Mitra
President of the West Bengal Pradesh Congress Committee
In office
16 September 2018 – 30 July 2020
Preceded byAdhir Ranjan Chowdhury
Succeeded byYet to be declared
In office
Preceded bySiddhartha Shankar Ray
Succeeded byA. B. A. Ghani Khan Choudhury
Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha
In office
16 May 2009 – 28 January 2014
Preceded bySamik Lahiri
Succeeded byAbhishek Banerjee
ConstituencyDiamond Harbour
Member of Legislative Assembly
In office
Preceded byBinoy Banerjee
Succeeded bySikha Mitra
Personal details
Born(1941-12-31)31 December 1941
Katorah, Jessore dist
Died30 July 2020(2020-07-30) (aged 78)
Kolkata, West Bengal
Political partyIndian National Congress
All India Trinamool Congress (2008-2014)
Spouse(s)Sikha Mitra
ChildrenRohan Mitra
Alma materUniversity of Calcutta (B.Sc.),(LL.B.)
Somendra Nath Mitra (31 December 1941 - 30 July 2020), popularly known as Somen Mitra, was an Indian politician. He was a member of the 15th Lok Sabha, elected from the Diamond Harbour constituency in West Bengal state in 2009 as a Trinamool Congress candidate. He was a member of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly from Sealdah from 1972–2006. He was the president of the state unit of the Indian National Congress. In July 2008, he left the Indian National Congress and formed a new party, named, Pragatisheel Indira Congress. In October 2009, the political party founded by him was officially merged with the All India Trinamool Congress. He rejoined his parent party Congress in January, 2014, before that he resigned from his MP post.
He became the president of West Bengal Pradesh Congress Committee for the second time on 22 September 2018 and served till his death on July 30th 2020.
About cookies on this site
We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage, to provide social media features and to enhance and customise content and advertisements.Learn more