Sheikh Muhammad Tahir Rasheed is confirmed dead at the age of 66.
Sheikh was best known as a Pakistani politician.
Sheikh Muhammad Tahir Rasheed
شيخ محمد طاہر رشيد
Former Member of the National Assembly of Pakistan
In office
18 October 1993 – 17 November 1996
In office
18 February 1997 – 12 October 1999
Former Member of the Provincial Assembly of the Punjab
In office
5 November 1990 – 28 June 1993
Personal details
Born20 April 1954 (1954-04-20) (age 66)
Died03 June 2020
Sheikh Muhammad Tahir Rasheed, also known as Tahir Rashid, Urdu: شيخ محمد طاہر رشيد‎, (born in Multan) is a Pakistani politician who is affiliated with Pakistan Muslim League. He was previously Member of National Assembly of Pakistan (MNA) (1993–1996, 1997–1999) and Member of Provincial Assembly (MPA) (1990–1993). He was also the Central Vice-President of the Pakistan Muslim League.
1 Family and education
2 Political career
2.1 1990–1993
2.2 1993
2.3 1997–1999
2.4 2002–2004
2.5 2005
2.6 2008 elections
2.7 2011
2.8 Breakaway from PML-Q
2.9 2012 by-elections
3 External links
Family and education
He completed his initial education at Millat High School and then Government College in Multan and graduated from the University of Sindh, Jamshoro.
Tahir Rasheed hails from a family that traces its roots to Jhajjar tehsil located in Rohtak district India. His Grandfather, Sheikh Abdus Samad was assassinated while migrating to Pakistan at the time of the independence of Pakistan in 1947. Tahir Rasheed and his family represent a community which has large business and political interests in the urban politics of Multan city.
His father, Sheikh Muhammad Rasheed, was his political mentor; the former Member of Federal Parliament (Majlis-e-Shoora) in 1980s nominated by General Zia-ul-Haq and elected Member of National Assembly of Pakistan (MNA), when elections were held on a non-party basis for the term 1985–1988.
Tahir Rasheed is married and has three sons, one daughter. The eldest son Muhammad Ahmad Tahir is currently studying abroad. His two other sons are Muhammad Ahsan Yousaf Tahir and Muhammad Asad Ali Asghar, who are currently studying in Multan.
Political career
An agriculturist by profession turned to politics in 1987 as an elected councillor of Municipal Corporation Multan. He rose through the political ranks, being elected as a Member of Provincial Assembly (MPA) for the term of 1990–1993. He was elected to National Assembly of Pakistan serving two consecutive terms, the first from 1993–1996 and the second from February 1997 to October 1999.
In 1990, he contested his first election for the post of Member of Provincial Assembly. He was given a ticket for constituency PP-163 in the remote area of Multan where he was an outsider and his opponent was Makhdoom Hassan Raza. Tahir Rasheed managed to win the seat by a margin of 7,000 votes. For three years he served as an MPA but when Nawaz Sharif resigned along with President Ghulam Ishaq Khan in 1993, assemblies were dissolved new elections were scheduled.
In November 1993, the new President Farooq Leghari called for fresh elections. Tahir Rasheed was once again issued a ticket from Multan but this time, it was for National Assembly of Pakistan from constituency NA-116 where his opponent was Syed Tanveer-ul Hassan Gillani, a Former Federal Minister who is also a cousin of Ex Prime Minister Makhdoom Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani. He was elected MNA on IJI ticket in 1990. In 1993, when the PML-N awarded ticket to Tahir Rasheed, Gilani opted for the PPP ticket.
In 1997, new elections were called for again. Tahir Rasheed was given Pakistan Muslim League ticket to contest in the elections, from the same constituency NA-116. Again he was up Against Syed Tanveer-ul-Hassan Gilani, who is a close relative of Ex Prime Minister Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani and PML-N's Javed Hashmi. However, Tahir Rasheed once again managed to defeat former federal ministers.
During this time, Sheikh Tahir Rasheed became a member of Parliamentary Steering Committee (PSC). The PSC was created in response to UNDP's assistance to enhance the professional capacity of the parliamentarians and National Assembly Secretariat and to support other democratic processes. He was one of the members of parliament who were also interested in assistance regarding relations between the Parliament and the media and in making television coverage of Parliament more effective.
In 1998, Sheikh Tahir Rasheed was one of the foremost supporters of the decision taken by the government to develop nuclear weapons.
Tahir Rasheed did not participate in the general elections held in 2002, choosing to run instead for Zila Nazim of Multan District in a bye election held in 2003.
Tahir Rasheed was one of the few people in the PML N who were trying to convince the senior leadership of the PML N to stop supporting the PPP in the ARD as they believed the PPP was not sincere with PML-N and had been taking an advantage of the PML-N to achieve their own objectives and capture the PML-N vote bank.
In August 2005, he decided to join the Pakistan Muslim League due to differences with the party policies and because his supporters were finding it difficult to adjust with the PPP in the ARD.
Tahir Rasheed was followed by Ex-Punjab Food Minister Hafiz Iqbal Khakwani, Ex-MNA Syed Javed Ali Shah, sitting MPA Syed Mujahid Ali Shah, PML-N Ex-MPA Khalid Khokhar and the son of Ex-MPA Sheikh Amir Khalil to join PML.
2008 elections
Tahir Rasheed lost.
Breakaway from PML-Q
On 4 May 2011, Sheikh Muhammad Tahir Rasheed announced its separation from Pakistan Muslim League.
2012 by-elections
On 25 February 2012, Sheikh Muhammad Tahir Rasheed 's younger brother Sheikh Muhammad Tariq Rasheed was elected as an MNA from NA-149. This seat was vacated by Javed Hashmi who has joined Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) led by Imran Khan.
Political offices
Preceded byKhurshid Ahmad Khan
Member of the Provincial Assembly of the Punjab5 November 1990 – 28 June 1993
Succeeded byRana Noor ul Hassan
Preceded bySyed Tanvir ul Hassan Gilani
Member of the National Assembly of Pakistan18 October 1993 – 17 November 1996
Succeeded by
Preceded by
2nd term Member of the National Assembly of Pakistan18 February 1997 – 12 October 1999
Succeeded byMalik Liaqat Dogar
Preceded byMakhdoom Javed Hashmi
Member of the National Assembly of Pakistan25 February 2012 –
Succeeded bySheikh Muhammad Tariq Rasheed
Party political offices
Preceded by
Central Vice President of the Pakistan Muslim League
years= 2006–2011
Succeeded byIncumbent
Party political offices
Preceded by
Leader of Pakistan Muslim League2012 –
Succeeded byIncumbent
External links
Tahir Rasheed's brother Tariq Rasheed sweeps NA 149 by poll
PML-N’s Tariq Rasheed defeated PPP’s Malik Liaquat Dogar after a good fight
PML-N’s Tariq Rashid, brother of former MNA Tahir Rashid contesting from NA 149 Multan
PPP, PML-N men ‘share’ Multan
Dawn Pakistani Newspaper
Dawn Newspaper PML-Q, PPP united for Multan Nazim’s election- FORMER PML-N Javed Ali Shah announced support for Pir Riaz instead of his party comrade Tahir Rasheed
Dawn Newspaper Multan Nazim election today: Feudals, bureaucracy bet on same horse
Pak Spectator
Election Commission Of Pakistan
1995 Human Rights Report: PAKISTAN
UNDP-PAK/97/010-Support to Parliamentary and Democratic Processes in Pakistan
Dawn Pakistani Newspaper
Provincial Assembly of the Punjab 11th Assembly (1990–1993)
Official Website of National Assembly of Pakistan
PML-Q rally protests Israeli attack on Gaza
About cookies on this site
We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage, to provide social media features and to enhance and customise content and advertisements.Learn more