Lalji Tandon is confirmed dead at the age of 85.
Lalji was best known as a Indian politician.
Lalji Tandon
Lalji Tandon at the release event of his book, 'Ankaha Lucknow'.jpg
22nd Governor of Madhya Pradesh
In office
29 July 2019 – 30 June 2020
PresidentRamnath Kovind
Chief Minister
Preceded byAnandiben Patel
Succeeded byAnandiben Patel (additional charge)
28th Governor of Bihar
In office
23 August 2018 – 28 July 2019
Chief MinisterNitish Kumar
Preceded bySatya Pal Malik
Succeeded byPhagu Chauhan
Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha
In office
16 May 2009 – 16 May 2014
Preceded byAtal Bihari Vajpayee
Succeeded byRajnath Singh
Leader of the Opposition, Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly
In office
7 September 2003 – 13 May 2007
Preceded bySwami Prasad Maurya
Succeeded byMulayam Singh Yadav
Personal details
Born(1935-04-12)12 April 1935[1]
Chowk, Lucknow, United Provinces, British India[2]
Died21 July 2020(2020-07-21) (aged 85)[3]
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India[3]
Political partyBharatiya Janata Party
Krishna Tandon
(m. 1958; his death 2020)
Children3 (including Ashutosh Tandon)
ResidenceRaj Bhavan, Bhopal
Alma materKalicharan Degree College, Lucknow University
WebsiteLok Sabha webpage
Lalji Tandon (12 April 1935 – 21 July 2020) was an Indian politician who served as the 22nd Governor of Madhya Pradesh. He was a member of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and a protégé of Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
1 Personal life
1.1 Death
2 Career
3 References
4 External links
Personal life
Tandon was born in Chowk village in Lucknow, United Provinces, British India to Shivnarayan Tandon and Annpurna Devi. He graduated from Kalicharan Degree College. Tandon married Krishna Tandon on 26 February 1958, with whom he had three sons.
Tandon died at Medanta Hospital, Lucknow, after battling longtime illness. He was 85.
He had been a member of Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Parishad (Legislative Council) for two terms, 1978–84 and remained the Leader of House, of the Council, 1990–96. Subsequently, he remained a member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) for three terms, 1996–2009, and remained the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly, 2003–07. He had also served as Urban Development minister in the Uttar Pradesh cabinet under Mayawati (in the BSP-BJP combine), and also in the Kalyan Singh ministry earlier.
On his birthday in April 2004, he was distributing free saris to poor women when a stampede broke out, killing 21 people. He was later given a clean chit in this matter.
In May 2009, he was elected to the 15th Lok Sabha from Lucknow by a margin over 40,000 votes over Rita Bahuguna Joshi of Indian National Congress. The seat was earlier held by former BJP President Atal Bihari Vajpayee since 1991 for four consecutive terms. Despite an enormous electoral spending, Akhilesh Das of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) polled third, trailing by 70 thousand votes.
As a Governor of Bihar, Tandon was praised for streamlining academic activities of the state universities.
On 20 July 2019, Tandon was appointed as the 22nd Governor of Madhya Pradesh, replacing Anandiben Patel.
About cookies on this site
We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage, to provide social media features and to enhance and customise content and advertisements.Learn more