Elsa Joubert is confirmed dead at the age of 97.
Elsa was best known as a South African Sestigers writer.
Death was likely due to COVID-19.
Elsabé Antoinette Murray
Born19 October 1922
Paarl, Western Cape
Died14 June 2020
Cape Town, Western Cape
NationalitySouth African
Alma materUniversity of Stellenbosch
Elsa Joubert (OIS), born Elsabé Antoinette Murray, is a Sestigers Afrikaans-language writer. She rose to prominence with her novel Die swerfjare van Poppie Nongena, which was translated into 13 languages and also staged as a drama.
1 Early life and career
2 Awards
3 List of works
3.1 Travelogues
3.2 Novels and short stories
3.3 Autobiographies
4 References
Early life and career
Elsa Joubert grew up in Paarl and matriculated from the all-girls school La Rochelle in Paarl in 1939. She then studied at the University of Stellenbosch from which she graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1942 and an SED (Secondary Education Diploma) in 1943. She continued her studies at the University of Cape Town which she left with a Master's degree in Dutch-Afrikaans literature in 1945.
After graduating, Joubert taught at the Hoër Meisieskool, an all-girls high school in Cradock, then worked as the editor of the women’s pages of Huisgenoot, a well-known Afrikaans family magazine, from 1946 to 1948. She then started writing full-time and travelled extensively in Africa, from the springs of the Nile in Uganda, through the Sudan, to Cairo, as well as to Mozambique, Mauritius, Réunion, Madagascar, and Angola. She also visited Indonesia.
In 1950 Joubert married Klaas Steytler, a journalist and later publisher and author, who died in 1998. She has three children, two daughters and one son, and lives in Oranjezicht, Cape Town.
fellow of the British Royal Society of Literature
honorary doctorate from Stellenbosch University (2001)
Eugène Marais Prize for Ons wag op die kaptein (1964)
CNA Prize for Bonga (1971)
W.A. Hofmeyr Prize, for Poppy Nongena (1979)
W.A. Hofmeyr Prize and Hertzog Prize for Die reise van Isobelle
Louis Luyt Prize and CNA Prize (1997)
Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize of the Royal Society of Literature for Poppie (1980)
Olivier Award for the best play (London)
Obi Award for best script (New York City)
Hertzog Prize for prose (1998)
List of works
Water en woestyn (Uganda en Kaïro), Dagbreek Boekhandel, 1957
Die verste reis (Wes-Europa), 1959
Suid van die wind (Madagaskar), 1962
Die staf van Monomotapa (Mosambiek), 1964
Swerwer in die Herfsland (Oos-Europa), 1968
Die nuwe Afrikaan (Angola), Tafelberg, 1974
Gordel van Smarag (Indonesië), Tafelberg, 1997
Novels and short stories
Ons wag op die kaptein - To die at sunset, Tafelberg, 1963
Die Wahlerbrug, Tafelberg, 1969
Bonga, Tafelberg, 1971
Die swerfjare van Poppie Nongena, Tafelberg, 1978 - The long journey of Poppie Nongena (1980), translated into 13 languages and also put to the stage as drama
Melk (Short Stories), Tafelberg, 1980
Die laaste Sondag - The last Sunday, Tafelberg, 1983
Poppie - die drama (co-author Sandra Kotzé), 1984
Die vier vriende, 1985 - The four friends (1987) (children's book)
Missionaris, 1988
Dansmaat (Short Stories), Tafelberg, 1993
Die reise van Isobelle, Tafelberg, 1995
Twee Vroue, Tafelberg, 2002
'n Wonderlike Geweld, Tafelberg, 2005 - A Lion on the Landing (2014), translated into English by Irene Wainwright
Reisiger, Tafelberg, 2010
About cookies on this site
We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage, to provide social media features and to enhance and customise content and advertisements.Learn more