David Hugh Mellor is confirmed dead at the age of 81.
David was best known as a British philosopher.
D. H. Mellor
Born(1938-07-10)July 10, 1938
London, England
Died21 June 2020(2020-06-21) (aged 81)
EraContemporary philosophy
RegionWestern philosophy
SchoolAnalytic philosophy
InstitutionsDarwin College, Cambridge
Doctoral studentsJeremy Butterfield, Tim Crane, Huw Price, Rebecca Roache
Main interests
Philosophy of science
Philosophy of mind
Philosophy of time
David Hugh Mellor (/ˈmɛlər/; 10 July 1938 – 21 June 2020) was a British philosopher. He was a former Professor of Philosophy and Pro-Vice-Chancellor, later Professor Emeritus, of Cambridge University.
1 Biography
2 Publications
3 References
4 Further reading
5 External links
Mellor was born in London on 10 July 1938, and educated at Manchester Grammar School. He studied chemical engineering at Pembroke College, Cambridge (BA 1960). His first formal study of philosophy was at the University of Minnesota where he took a minor in Philosophy of Science under Herbert Feigl. From Minnesota he obtained an MSc in 1962. He obtained his PhD in philosophy, with a thesis written under the supervision of Mary Hesse, at Penbroke in 1968.
His primary work is in metaphysics, although his philosophical interests include philosophy of science, philosophy of mind, probability, time and causation, laws of nature and properties, and decision theory. Mellor was Professor of Philosophy at the University of Cambridge and Fellow of Darwin College from 1971 to 2005. As a professor he was the subject of extensive media coverage as the main opponent of the conferment of an honorary degree in philosophy to the French philosopher Jacques Derrida.
He was president of the Aristotelian Society from 1992 to 1993, a member of the Humanist Philosophers' Group of the British Humanist Association and Honorary Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities. He was a Fellow of the British Academy between 1983 and 2008. In retirement Mellor held the title of Emeritus Professor.
His Festschrift, Real Metaphysics, was published in 2003. Mellor was also an amateur theatre actor. He passed away in June 2020 .
The Matter of Chance (1971). Cambridge University Press.
Real Time (1981). Cambridge University Press.
Real Time II (1998). Routledge.
Matters of Metaphysics (1991). Cambridge University Press.
The Facts of Causation (1995). Routledge.
Probability: A Philosophical Introduction (2005). Routledge.
Mind, Meaning, and Reality (2012). Oxford University Press
For a more complete list of publications and works see Mellor's homepage and entry at PhilPapers.
About cookies on this site
We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage, to provide social media features and to enhance and customise content and advertisements.Learn more