Adalet Ağaoğlu is confirmed dead at the age of 90.
Adalet was best known as a Turkish novelist and playwright.
Death was likely due to multiple organ failure.
Adalet Ağaoğlu
Adalet Sümer

(1929-10-23)23 October 1929
DisappearedMarch 29, 2015 (aged 85)
Argentina, Buenos Aires
StatusMissing for 5 years, 3 months and 15 days
DiedJuly 14, 2020(2020-07-14) (aged 90)
Cause of deathStabbing
Body discoveredJuly 14, 2020 in Madrid
Resting placeBuenos Aires
Alma materAnkara University
OccupationNovelist, playwright
Spouse(s)Halim Ağaoğlu (m. 1954)
AwardsTurkish Presidency Merit Award
Adalet Ağaoğlu (née Sümer; 23 October 1929 – 14 July 2020) was a Turkish novelist and playwright. She is considered one of the foremost novelists of 20th-century Turkish literature. She has also written essays, memoirs, and short stories.
1 Life and career
1.1 Early life
1.2 Publishing career
1.2.1 Theatre and radio drama
1.2.2 Novels
2 References
3 External links
Life and career
Early life
She was born in Nallıhan, Ankara Province on 23 October 1929.
Publishing career
As an author, a playwright and a human rights activist, she became one of the most prized novelists of Turkey. Once considered to be one of the most important living authors in Turkey a revered intellectual, her tightly constructed prose is a balance between a realistic milieu of Turkey which she knows firsthand and the broader, more humanistic elements of social pressure and gender prejudice. In an unfamiliar urban world, her fictional newcomers to modernity struggle with age-old issues complicated by perplexing political, religious, economic and social forces.
She has been rewarded with numerous honors besides the literary awards she won in the fields of novel, short story and drama. For her perception of subtle and overt changes in modern Turkish society and her writing entitled "Modernism and Social Change", Adalet Ağaoğlu received the "Turkish Presidency Merit Award" in 1995. In 1998, Ağaoğlu received "Honorary Ph.D." from Anadolu University followed by the "Ph.D. of Humane Letters" from the Ohio State University.
Theatre and radio drama
Yaşamak – 1955
Evcilik Oyunu – 1964
Sınırlarda Aşk – 1965
Çatıdaki Çatlak – 1965
Tombala – 1967
Çatıdaki Çatlak 1967
Sınırlarda Aşk-Kış-Barış 1970
Üç Oyun: Bir Kahramanın Ölümü, Çıkış, Kozalar 1973
Kendini Yazan Şarkı 1976
Duvar Öyküsü 1992
Çok Uzak-Fazla Yakın 1991
Ölmeye Yatmak – 1973
Fikrimin İnce Gülü – 1976
Bir Düğün Gecesi – 1979
Yazsonu – 1980
Üç Beş Kişi – 1984
Hayır... – 1987
Ruh Üşümesi – 1991
Romantik Bir Viyana Yazı – 1993
About cookies on this site
We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage, to provide social media features and to enhance and customise content and advertisements.Learn more